Snap music for the eyes

freshprince_s3.jpg

I don’t know about ya’ll, but one of the things I loved as a lil’ Phuque was prime-time television. The Cosby Show, A Different World, and The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air were a few of my favorite sitcoms to watch.

Flash forward to 2007…

Survivor. Big Brother. Joe Millionaire. Flavor of Love. These cheap-ass “reality” shows have ruined prime-time TV, and what was once great television now comes in a boxset sitting on a shelf in a mall for $50.00 (or in a .rar file on my some college kid’s desktop).

I blame the one that started it all: The “Real” World.

Now I can’t front – I liked the first 6-7 seasons of that show. But if someone’s sticking four cameras and boom mics in your face every single day, how “real” are you gonna act?. Then there’s the whole casting for conflict thing (if you buy the whole “living experiment” excuse, then take off your shirt so I can sell it to you). If I put two white women, one asian woman, one black man, one white man, a Hispanic lesbian, and a gay dog in the same room, I don’t have to guess what’s going to happen (no “this guy walks into a bar” joke). Then on top of that the producers of the show are constantly looking for ways to start shit in the confessionals. For instance:

Producer: “How do you feel about Becky sleeping with that guy in your room last night?”

Sarah: “Like….I didn’t really wanna, like, you know….comment on this or anything because I’ve only known Becky for like four hours, and we, like…get along well right now. But if I were to like, you know…..comment on the situation then, like…I would say she’s a slut for having sex with that Deshaun guy.”

Now that’s seems like a pretty honest answer – until it hits “editing”:

Sarah: “Like…well…I say Becky is a slut. She’s only known that Deshaun guy for like four hours.”

Yeah….that’s reality for ya. Between the wackery on the radio and “reality” shows, the entertainment industry is going to hell in a handbasket.

I guess there’s always Nick at Nite.

10 Responses to “Snap music for the eyes”

  1. bkscribe Says:

    first… and foremost.. well written skip.. i likes (nh)

  2. Big Homie Says:

    Great post. I guess there was a reason for the long wait. Fresh Prince was definitely one of my all time favorites. Got all the seasons (that they have so far) on DVD.

    Reality tv is madd fake. I say this all the time so co-signs to the post. Real World not so much into but I have to admit I did watch the one in Vegas because shorty Irulan is madd dope. I dont watch the reunion show, but when I come across her, man o man..lol

    College Hill should be banned from TV..LMAO

  3. Phuque Says:

    >>College Hill should be banned from TV..LMAO

    ^^I left that one alone because I didn’t have time to write a novel…lol…

  4. G7 Says:

    reality is trash. the only one that was original was Cops. The rest is bear cheeks.

  5. candyraindrops Says:

    LOL..luv this POST PHuque!……I agree…..and real world is sooo staged its passed obvious.

  6. hoodtalk.org Says:

    what it does homie

  7. The-XFacta Says:

    Reality TV is the worse thing to happen to the World since Hoodtalk’s birth!

  8. green eyes Says:

    A Different World made me want to go to college. TV back in the day was much better.

    But sidenote– how old do i feel that these shows come on at Nick @ Nite now?

  9. hoodtalk.org Says:

    hoodtalk.org Says:

    August 1st, 2007 at 11:26 am
    Phuque Says:

    August 1st, 2007 at 11:23 am
    # hoodtalk.org Says:
    August 1st, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Why do men judge other mens swagger?

    ^^I dunno…you’re a homo….you tell us.

    *spits at phuques face* i tried to make peace

  10. Phuque Says:

    But sidenote– how old do i feel that these shows come on at Nick @ Nite now?\

    ^^Seriously – I remember when “Bewitched” and “Lassie” were on Nick at Nite…time flies…

Leave a Reply

