Health > Beauty

monique.jpg

Monique is a comedienne/actress who is mostly known for being proud to be overweight (and that one show on VH1). While her outer appearance may not necessarily concern her, you’ve got to wonder if she considers her health to be an issue (and why she opted to host “Charm School” instead of appearing on “Celebrity Fit Club”).

As lazy Americans, most of us have to work hard to stay in shape, and avoid overconsumption. As a young African-American male I try to workout at least 3-4 times a week, I keep my diet in check, but I don’t go crazy. I’m really not concerned with looking like this guy, but one thing I don’t need is heart disease (along with a plethora of other physical issues) at 42 years old.

Then there are those who think that “Heineken curls” and porkchop sammiches are the key to good carbs and protein. Now in Monique’s case fat = funny, and I can’t knock her for making money for being Nikki Parker and what-not. But heart disease/diabetes/ebola is a serious issue, especially for Blacks, and especially black women. Instead of encouraging women to flaunt their fat, Monique should be focusing on eating right and losing the weight that just might save her life one day.

The best thing for people in their 20s to do now is to create good habits early. Put the Newports down now (it’ll be two years for me in a few months), research healthy foods and create a good balanced diet, hit the gym on the regular, and put the henny down every now and again (alcohol = my only vice). The sooner the better….but everything in moderation.

I don’t wanna hear shit about no “glandular problems” either.

27 Responses to “Health > Beauty”

  1. Big Homie Says:

    First!!

    Good post. I’ve been meaning to work out as well but cant manage to put it in my schedule because I work so much. Im a slim dude but staying in shape is always good. I need to start eating right. Cut back on the drinking and quit with the Newports. Congrats by the way.

    Im approaching 30 real soon and like to make it there healthy.

  2. nation Says:

    yo i was watching shadowboxer on the movie channel yesterday, that’s that cuba gooding joint with the queen, yo mo’nique is disgusting. i don’t give a shart what land says, she was playing an obese crack addict… i mean, how do you even write those characters in a movie

  3. Phuque Says:

    Thanks Big Homie….yeah it was the smartest (and hardest) thing I’ve ever done…but it’s worth it in the long run. My friend’s mother works at a hospital and she told us a story about how she told a 62 year-old man that he was going to die of lung cancer…can you imagine?

  4. Phuque Says:

    nation:

    >>she was playing an obese crack addict… i mean, how do you even write those characters in a movie

    ^^LMAO….I haven’t seen it yet, but I can already imagine…

    “I got these cheeseburgers man….actually I HAD these cheeseburgers….until I ate ’em….but I got this can of evaporated milk though…”

  5. green eyes Says:

    good post. lol @ Ebola.
    gotta agree woth you on the monique tip.. i mean i can respect her for pushing the idea of we all come in different shapes and sizes and you should always be comfortable in your skin, BUT never once does she acknowledge health and wellness into that doctrine.
    Being comfortable in your skin doesnt mean a thing if you are about to drop of a heart attack at 31.

  6. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    (alcohol = my only vice).

    ^^^ ya call mr. me too and I dont know if pussy is a vice well come to think of it the way them labs wrap around my cock is quite vice like

    and Monique not only is she fat she isnt even remotely funny

    Yo speaking of ridiculously yoked I watched 106 and park yesterday for the first time in forever and that chick Rocsi can get this high hard one. Also they showed a new video of Rich Boy and Polow and that nucca Polow is on some ‘roids or some shit, okay I am just hating and No homo!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hx2dVKVDM94

    ^^ See polow for yourself, all disclaimers possible but dude is diesel like a Mofo

  7. Phuque Says:

    >>Being comfortable in your skin doesnt mean a thing if you are about to drop of a heart attack at 31.

    ^^Exactamundo…I’m not shallow by any means…but if you don’t care enough about your health to workout and/or change your diet, then the door is ———->

  8. Phuque Says:

    >>well come to think of it the way them labs wrap around my cock is quite vice like

    ^^lol & smh

  9. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    hiphopremix.com/content/view/235/28/

    ^^^ Look at this your Boy Fuxie got picked up on a alley-oop by Hip Hop Remix

    ^^^ also Phuque since I shouted you out, you get a direct link homie

  10. Phuque Says:

    *daps Fux*

    Good lookin’ out famlay…

  11. Big Homie Says:

    Shoutouts to the ones who lost weight and made it better for themselves. Cant exclude them.

  12. Mr.O Says:

    Monique disgusts me, I agree with you here. Have you discovered a cigar that suits your tastes yet? I do not smoke during the day but once I am off and have a drink I can not resist.

    *Alcohol is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy-Benjamin Franklin

  13. hoodtalk.org Says:

    propz on the post

  14. nation of moderation Says:

    ^ lol

  15. nation of moderation Says:

    Phuque… your shirts in the mail http://www.tinyurl.com/397yku

    all i got was: http://www.wmdeez.wordpress.com/2007/07/24/nique-ta-mere/#comment-598

  16. nation Says:

    ^ my bad

  17. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    Pork products and candy = my only vice

    Obesity’s a serious issue in America

    Also thanks for using a conservative photo of Mo’nique, a picture of her in a bikini would have been tramatizing.

  18. hoodtalk.org Says:

    phuque…i wanna dead the e-beef…we gonna dead it or not….? its your call

  19. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Phuque Phuque, ol’ custard chucker ass nigga….and fuck you too Hootie, ol’ back steppin, half steppin ass ninja, I got beef with every muthafucka….Phuque……phuque….

    Good post by the way my brother

  20. Big Homie Says:

    Ok high as a kite and got the munchies. Somebody hand me a greasy ass cheesburge, fries with mad salt (dont bother draining the cookin oil), and chocolate milkshake

    Then I’ll hit that Newport and drink a 40oz til I sleep remind you its 1 am

  21. hoodtalk.org Says:

    Phuque you aint respond to my “cease-fire”…That could be taken as disrespectful…

  22. The-XFacta Says:

    Good post dog! I’m glad you touched on this subject. I don’t want to offened any ‘bigger’ people but I recently lost 50 lbs and got back down to 230. Let me tell you that I don’t find big women attractive at all and it’s bad that somewomen think it’s sexy to be big and unhealthy. I started playing full court b-ball 3 times a week for 2-3 hours to lose this weight. I was committed to working out and getting healthy for me and my son. I wish Monique and women like her don’t take their weight and health as a joke becuase it can all end soon… See Gerald Levert and countless others.

    P.S. I’m not slighting big women, it’s good to have self confidance, but put out a better message.

    Stay Up Ya!

  23. Phuque Says:

    I wish Monique and women like her don’t take their weight and health as a joke becuase it can all end soon… See Gerald Levert and countless others.

    ^^Word…I completely spaced using Gerald Levert as an example…

  24. D. Billz Says:

    Good shit chief.

    I often stress a healthy regimen with peers and generally they scoff at it like, “damn, what are you, a vegetarian?” And often, I usually get this backlash from chicks more than anything. People need to realize that you don’t have to be fat or overweight as a indicator that you should have a healthy diet. I read in “Breaking the Curse of Willie Lynch”, that, beyond other factors that affect Blacks like social issues, diet is a big problem that can lead to our demise earlier than expected. For instance, people don’t know that greens have a saturation of Vitamin K which can cause blood clots in the vessels. And that can ultimately lead to a stroke. “Soul” food has been one of our biggest hinderances in regimen. People fail to realize that what we deem as “good eatin'” were just mere scraps left for us by the slave owners. We didn’t have access to the seeds to plant fresh fruits and vegetables and eat from a “healthy” animal. For instance, I don’t eat red meat or pork. Now, I don’t go around suggesting everyone to stop eating it just because I do, but I do give my reasons when prompted as to why. We all know the dangers of pork. Period. But red meat, especially for me, can be harmful to the colon. 90% of most male cancers begin the colon. And red meat carry more harmful parasites than any other meat besides pork…

    Ok, I don’t wanna turn this into dietary consultation post, but good looks on the thread. Lol

  25. Phuque Says:

    >>“Soul” food has been one of our biggest hinderances in regimen. People fail to realize that what we deem as “good eatin’” were just mere scraps left for us by the slave owners.

    ^^Tabbanackle. I quit eating that stuff a few years ago. It’s shame that people take pride in cooking food that was thrown out by slave owners. Diabetes is real. Strokes and heart attacks are real. We don’t realize what we’re doing to our bodies until the pipes are clogged…

  26. candyraindrops Says:

    good post Phuque……I guess Monique has her own way of addressing the health issue.

  27. Rey aka Will Emo Swagger Says:

    Yeah man.. I’m trying too.. Babysteps, I guess.

    Good post, good perspective.

    Props.

Leave a Reply

