When Keeping It “Real” Goes Wrong

hgm.jpg

“Hot Ghetto Mess”, a six-episode series dedicated to the “betterment of the African-American community”, will debut on Bullshit Excuses Television on July 25th. Judging from the show’s title I’d say that it should fit in well with the network’s current programming (it’s even hosted by Chaalie Murphy). This show has probably caused a first in television advertising history (I know someone will correct me if I’m wrong) – companies State Farm Insurance and Home Depot have asked BET to pull their advertising from the series’ time slot…..and they haven’t even seen an episode.

Now I’m kind of on the fence with this whole thing because:

A) They’re pulling ads because of the name alone

B) BET has denied that the show is degrading

C) These two companies will look stupid if the show is a hit and/or serves it’s intended purpose (you know….to be all “uplifting” and stuff)

But on the other hand:

A) BET’s programming has a history of being complete and utter wackery

B) “Hot Ghetto Mess” is not necessarily a title you’d used to attract advertisers

C) BET is already the red-headed stepchild of Viacom…things like this make it look justifiable

Apparently the show consists of home videos sent in by viewers, along with random on-the-street interviews, so it’s pretty obvious that the show will have a comedic tone. But why does that make these two companies nervous? Sure you could bring up the whole Don Imus incident, but this is Black folk makin’ fun of Black folk right? It’s not like the show is airing on NBC on Thursday night after “My Name is Earl”. As far as degrading black women goes – these same companies aren’t all nervous about the slutatiouness being displayed on Rap City/106 & Park videos……yep…..State Farm will slap a couple of Dennis Haysbert commercials on that time slot with the quickness.

So why the fuss now? Every one of my friends and family members knows how I feel about BET shows, and coonery in general…but you have to be fair here. If “I Love Janice From The Muppet Band” or “To Catch A Crackhead” would have aired on BET instead of VH1 and ratings went through the roof, we wouldn’t have heard a peep.

This argument could go either way (I’m all for removing the show if it is actually degrading to Black people and our culture), but whenever the opportunity arises for a company to act like they give a damn about their (Black) employees, they take advantage. If State Farm and Home Depot expected “Hot Ghetto Mess” to take off, they wouldn’t have stuck their necks out. Don’t believe the hype.

32 Responses to “When Keeping It “Real” Goes Wrong”

  1. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    First Bitches and I gave up on BET after the pulled uncut off the air but this should be funny!

  2. the audience Says:

    Nice post Phuque (comma)…..

    Have you ever checked out the website?

    hotghettomessdotcom

  3. Rey aka Optimus Pr-Emo Says:

    Damm.. That was on point, Phuque.

  4. Big Homie Says:

    Good post. You nailed it. (no game winning shot at the buzzer)

    But I am sure we all going to least check the show and get some good laughs. I see what you saying though.

  5. candyraindrops Says:

    I actually think there is a petition to shut it down. good post phuque.

  6. Phuque Says:

    >>I actually think there is a petition to shut it down.

    ^^If it is what people are saying it is then I sure hope so…

  7. Phuque Says:

    >>Have you ever checked out the website?

    hotghettomessdotcom

    ^^I typed it in earlier but it wasn’t working…I might have to update this post after checking it out though…

  8. Phuque Says:

    Whaddup Hootie…you get banned from NR again?

  9. Big Homie Says:

    Phuque, why did you use a pic of your girl in this post?

  10. Phuque Says:

    ^^lmao @ Big Homie….because I couldn’t find any of your boyfriend in that Sixers throwback tux….

  11. The-XFacta Says:

    BET needs to be off the air!

  12. Phuque Says:

    smh @ the faggotry

  13. The-XFacta Says:

    Hoots Lost!

  14. Paperstacker Says:

    >>I actually think there is a petition to shut it down.

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

    There should be a petition to shut BET down.

    Matter fact, didn’t a clip of the first episode of this shit air already? I could have sworn I saw a clip from the first episode. It was on some BET Uncut shit.

  15. Phuque Says:

    ^^I was trying to find footage but came up empty (nh)….

  16. The-XFacta Says:

    Why is this kid posting comments on your site if its so wack??? Fucking haters!

  17. Phuque Says:

    lol @ this cat’s screen names…

  18. Phuque Says:

    # The-XFacta Says:
    July 17th, 2007 at 8:44 am edit

    Why is this kid posting comments on your site if its so wack??? Fucking haters!

    ^^Exactamundo

  19. The-XFacta Says:

    MOP=Dinobots ((C) 1980’s Transformers)

  20. The-XFacta Says:

    Oh shit I meant that on nr

  21. Paperstacker Says:

    I’m a 10′ 11″ ferret

    ^^^^^^^^^

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

  22. The-XFacta Says:

    This site is becoming scary

  23. Phuque Says:

    Yeah…I need to install LandLORD’s “Windows Faggotry Disclaimer” program or something…

  24. candyraindrops Says:

    lol at the bipolarism……phuque I see your got stans, fans, and stalkers.

  25. G7 Says:

    shit’s pathetic

  26. Phuque Says:

    ^^…ain’t it?

  27. green eyes Says:

    new post phuque!!!!

  28. Phuque Says:

    Sorry greenie….been kinda busy the past couple days…I’ll get on it tonight (nh)….

  29. The-XFacta Says:

    You know what, the more I look at this chick……. She can get it!!!

  30. BlogXilla Says:

    Man BET is the worst I stopped watching the Negro Channel about 3 years ago

  31. Florida Says:

    Today i spent 300 dollars for platinium roulette system , i hope
    that i will make my first money online

  32. Leesa Says:

    Do you need unlimited articles for your website ? I am sure you spend a lot of
    time writing articles, but you can save it for other tasks, just type in google: kelombur’s favorite
    tool

Leave a Reply

