Fan Mail

t1_superdome.jpg

Sup.

Last week I posted about the SoCal fires, and how the response time varied (considerably) in comparison to Hurricane Katrina (if you feel up to it you can read it here). Some people agreed with me…some didn’t. This was exactly what I had expected.

Yesterday I finally got around to cleaning up my spam comments and I came across one in particular that I took offense to. It read:

Mr. Roach Says:
October 27th, 2007 at 12:50 pm

This is a stupid post. New Orlenas problems were a consequence of its corrupt, lazy, criminal people (8X national murder rate 12 X violent crime rate). No government can easily govern such trash.

Now…

Before I start this I should let you (and everyone else) know a little about this blog. It was created for one purpose: to say what’s on my mind. Period. I am not a professional writer and I do not aspire to become one. If you want big-ass words and sugar-coated misinformation, CNN is thataway ——->.

I visited your site afterwards and I must say – you’re a pretty intelligent brother (which I will assume you are based on your “Amazon Wish List” page) – but it pains me to even think that you would ever in your life put yourself above another person because of your “educational background”, or because you want to impress the other Uncle Toms you play the back nine with (and if your defense to that statement happens to involve the word “stereotype” then save it, because your response would be pure hypocrisy).

This has far more to do with classism than than anything else – and you have proved my point by calling every single victim of Hurricane Katrina a “corrupt, lazy, criminal” person. Yes – the murder rate is high in New Orleans. Yes – the crime rate is high. These statements are facts.

Did that cause the levees to break?

Does that mean people should live in filth in an building that resembles a Third World country?

What concerns me the most about your statement (and even more if you are African-American) is your complete disregard for another human life.

“Oh…a felon are trapped in his house? He deserves it. Fuck him, his mother who has three other kids to take care of, his sister who was about to actually go to college (and be someone like yourself), and his father with the kidney problem who needs treatment every single day.”

Are you not saying this? Are you not saying that everyone in reach of that California fire deserved to see a faster response time in an emergency situation because they’re better than the people in New Orleans? Are you not saying that the people of New Orleans shouldn’t have been saved at all?

Well that’s what you wrote.

You can hide behind your expensive education, your money, your books, or anything else you may consider of more value than a human life. One thing you’ll probably never know is the love that a lot of these so-called “corrupt, lazy, criminal” people show each other, or would be willing to show you in spite of your ignorance and bigotry. I’m not saying everyone in New Orleans is a saint (no pun intended), but no one deserves what those people went through.

By the way…there are just as many corrupt, lazy, criminal people in your field of expertise (law) as there are in the streets, patna.

But you’re a smart guy….I’m sure you knew that.

feel free to leave Mr. Roach your thoughts on his WordPress blog.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Fan Mail”

  1. Mr. Roach Says:

    My language was strong. I didn’t mean to be entirely devoid of compassion and realize that it sounds that way. Ordinary working families, poor retirees, kids, and people just struggling to make it did not “deserve” what happened to them in New Orleans. Their government failed them. The levees failed them. The weather battered them. But the all of these things were made worse because such a high number of New Orleanians are common criminals who belong in jail. They make life harder for everyone, and it’s a shame that too many people feel sorry for them or “blame whitey” rather than condemning them for the parasites they are. This is a factor in New Orleans collective social life, as its culture of corruption (inherited from the French), and the widespread tolerance for criminality, corruption, and a lack of enterprise has made New Orleans collective life bleak before the storm and nearly hopeless after. I’m all for helping out and glad folks got money to rebuild through FEMA, insurance, and other sources; I think it might be best for the New Orleans’ folks to get scattered to the four corners of America where they will not collectively stew in the toxic combination of crime, French corruption, bad geography, a weak economy, and a super-high murder rate.

  2. green eyes Says:

    ouch. that fools hits are about to skyrocket. gotta say though– its ignorance like his that allows stereotypes to live on

  3. hoodtalk.org Says:

    Im fucking thug from the hood..

    Yo phuque we still got e-beef…or we deaded that shit?

    Portlands been slow…The biggest news coming out of there is a beaver died and Oden is out for the season..

  4. Phuque Says:

    Hootie if you don’t have anything nice to say…go back to your cage.

  5. reythehussein Says:

    lol @ (allegedly) Hootie..

    Kudos, Phuque. You made a lot of good points. A human being is a human being–first and fucking foremost–regardless of education or opportunities.

    I’m gonna give that asshole some yellin’.

  6. Paperstacker Says:

    Phuque I don’t know why you even gave this guy any attention. It’s quite known that peoples thoughts of elitism run rampent on the internet. I’ve not suprised at what he said. As a matter of fact you can find 1000’s of comments like these on youtube everyday. If you search for any katrina related videos you’ll see hundreds of posts identical to the e-mail the guy sent you, I mean down to the exact words.

    I guess this goes to show that regardless of the level of your education you can still fall victim to extreme ignorance. This guy is nothing special, when you give people like this the voice to express their ignorance thats the only time their opinions even become relevant.

    Oh yeah and Phuque out of curiousity are you a college graduate, what do you do? I ask that because of the guy mentioned something about that.

    Oh yeah and the Hov skit is hilarious.

  7. Phuque Says:

    >>Oh yeah and Phuque out of curiousity are you a college graduate

    ^^^

    Nope.

    School of Hard Knocks…with honors (c) M.I.B. If you’re referring to the second quote I posted….I wrote that as an example of what he was actually thinking. I know I shouldn’t have even bothered to respond, but I was pretty upset when first read his actual statement, hence the post.

    Thanks for commenting.

  8. Paperstacker Says:

    Yeah, no doubt, I looked through some of the posts on the blog. Nothing new, he just spews bullshit if you ask me. Get a load of this, I actually had to laugh.

    “We live in a world where massive disparities in inter-racial crime go unreported and vicious black-on-white crimes are subject to a media blackout. ”

    This guy thinks black on white racism is more prevelant than white on black racism this days. The simple fact that he can come to a conclusion like this shows are deliusional he is.

    But like I said if it wasn’t for the internet would we even know this dumb fuck existed? In all my life I’ve probably never heard anyone say things like this in person, same goes for the comments on youtube, diff blogs, etc. I’m sure you’ve read some of those, very similar to what dude wrote but in a more racist tones. At the end of the day if it wasn’t for his blog he wouldn’t even have a means of getting his asnine opinion out, just shows how irrelevant he is, and how the internet gives any fool the oppurtunity to say something.

  9. Phuque Says:

    @ Paperstacker – I caught that on his blog too – and you’re right. His backwards view is not even worth our attention in the first place….

  10. landLORD Says:

    … Martell Chien-Ming Webster ??? ..

  11. Phuque Says:

    # landLORD Says:
    November 7th, 2007 at 1:19 pm edit

    … Martell Chien-Ming Webster ??? ..

    ^^^

    lol & smh

  12. Mr. Get Out My Way, Pimping Says:

    this guy’s an asshat, phuque. (c) Dr. Obvious

    he’s probably just lashing out at you because his daughter is dating a black guy… or his doctor wont refill his oxycontin prescription… or he caught his wife watching Rap City or whatever it is that pisses the Racist/Classist Right off these days. give this clown no shine and keep it movin’.

  13. hoodtalk.org Says:

    Yoo Landlord what up bruh…

    Yo I need the regs to start a petition and bring it to Eskay to get me back on nahright.com

    i want my old name back…hoodtalk.org…it doesn’t let me post…

    Phuque, Landlord speak to Eskay….

    what is Eskay’s aim?

  14. OnPoint Says:

    Wow…good post man

    I wont even say more than that, cause nothing annoys me more than this type of thing.

  15. mamourjr Says:

    Great blog. I’m going to share this with my family in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

