You Need More People

billgatesjayz.jpg

“…It ain’t to play games wit’ you/it’s to aim at you…”

I was all for it.

At first.

New Jay album? Word?? It ain’t gonna be a Reasonable Doubt or Black Album (might not even be a Kingdom Come at this point), but whatever…it’s Jay right? Then I read the Times article this morning and it all becomes clear.

Album title: American Gangster

At first, I’m thinking “Ok..a play off of the new Denzel flick. Nice.” Until I read further:

“The album, which his label plans to release in early November, came together over the past few weeks after Jay-Z was shown the film, directed by Ridley Scott, in which Denzel Washington portrays Frank Lucas, a early 1970s Harlem heroin kingpin.”

What a coincidence. He sees the film…..an album is recorded. With the same title. Voila.

*puts thinking cap on*

My thoughts:

In theory, Universal Pictures** is using Mr. Carter as an insurance policy for the $100 million flick, and I don’t blame them. Jay’s influence among the movie’s target demographic is heavy mayne. They need someone to say “come see this movie because we spent a lot of money putting everyone’s favorite black actor along with some rappers in it”. Why not say it in song? Who better than Camel the G.O.A.T.? I’m willing to bet (although it will go unspoken) that Jay doesn’t even care about how many albums he sells this go-round…Universal probably cut a cross-promotion check that made even his eyes pop out of their sockets. You can’t fit that hustle inside of a rapper [||].

The funny thing is, this movie has a pretty big buzz – and has had one for a while. I know I’m going to see it. My mind was made up before I even saw the first trailer. I’m sure many of you feel this way as well. The story and the actors involved were enough to sell you. Is Jay really even needed? In my opinion this flick has mad money-making potential on it’s own.

More importantly, if this album flops it’ll be a bad look for Jay, and all parties involved. We all know that the “I used to sell drugs and I made it out – now let me tell you some stories from ’88” horse is on life support – and Jay’s hiding the Louisville behind his back. I’m a Jay fan and all, but he’s really starting to “#45″ his legendary career. That holographic “KC” cover says a lot about his status at this point. Pretty soon he’s going to have to choose an image…..walking the fence is soooo six months ago.

 

But – if all else fails, they could always shoot RZA in the thigh.

Related:

American Gangster trailer

**Not to be confused with the company that pulled the “Curtsy vs. KanYe” stunt

 

 

 

 

 

18 Responses to “You Need More People”

  1. cMac Says:

    that might be the worst pic of Jay I’ve ever seen [II]

    But I def plan to see the movie. Looks like it’s gonna be good as hell.

    I hope this album is good, Jay…don’t get too comfortable up there at the top homie. I woulda much rather you just went out on Black Album than to come back and release 2 whack joints.

  2. Big Homie Says:

    I thought about this from this perspective as well, but Im still looking foward to this album anyways.

  3. reythehussein Says:

    I can see Jay “going in” with this one. He knows people missed “Classic Jay” on KC, this is his way of going back.

    Jay’s Hustler Tales > _____.

    Propssss.

  4. Phuque Says:

    I can see Jay “going in” with this one. He knows people missed “Classic Jay” on KC, this is his way of going back.

    ^^

    We’ll see

  5. Big Homie Says:

    Not too big on Blue Magic

  6. One & Only Big Homie Says:

    Im not that amped with Blue Magic

  7. woodro Says:

    im feeling what you saying….and then they put him up against the big hommie(nas) again in the 4th quarter…what nas gon do make music around the nick barnes movie..

    nah i know he wont but still..theres too much business in hiphop

  8. G7 Says:

    not too sure about this album. Back in the day when a Jay album was dropping it was guaranteed heat. No worries. These days I worry.

  9. Phuque Says:

    ^^Exactamundo…I haven’t heard the track that was released yet, but I’m assuming it wasn’t anything to scream about…

  10. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    I’m a business..maan….good post phuque.

  11. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    oh..blu magic needs some “black magic” to get it up to the ‘kaNYE” level…song is eh…

  12. green eyes Says:

    i been looking forward to the film. the album.. eh.. we’ll see.

  13. Soul Says:

    Jay is now a perpetual let-down.

    Just as I was spazzing out at the thought of a Reasonable Doubt Vol. 2-type of record, Pharrell rolls in his Skateboard and fucks everything up.

  14. Babydoll Says:

    I can’t wait for both. I’m a Jay stan…what more can I say. LOL! Miss Info said “so far what I’ve found out is that its totally a concept album, its not a mainstream album, there are very few radio friendly songs…its Hov spitting about drugs, selling drugs, dirty money, broken families and drugs…There are no cliché collabos with british rockers. There are no duets with B…so far.”

    If this is true then I’m all for it!

  15. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    new post phuque! damnn it..lol

  16. Phuque Says:

    Sorry….laziness is a helluva drug…I’ll get on it (nh)…

  17. Big Homie Says:

    yo

  18. Still Starving Says:

    Yeah, too bad mc’s fall off like this. I’m sick of every album getting hyped up as something that will just let you down.

    http://www.stillstarving.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

